Sustainability Committee

The Committee’s focus is to ensure sustainability issues and opportunities in Weston are proactively managed, advising the Select Board and collaborating with Town departments and committees. The Committee will recommend, develop and monitor programs designed to enhance Weston’s long-term sustainability and resilience in response to environmental, resource and energy challenges. The full committee charge details 10 action items.

Committee Work

The Sustainability Committee is working on a Sustainability Policy and Action Plan for the Town of Weston, as well as bringing forward Community Choice Aggregation, Green Communities Grants, the Mass. Vulnerability Program, and additional solar energy opportunities.


The Sustainability Committee is made up of seven voting members and at-large members are appointed by the Select Board for a three-year term. 

  • David Ayer, at-large
    Term expires: 2021
  • Christopher Jylkka, at-large
    Term expires: 2022
  • Sandy Kendall, at-large
    Term expires: 2020
  • Katharina Wilkins, Selectmen’s Representative
    Term expires: 2021
  • Rachel Stewart, School Committee Representative
  • Leslie Glynn, Planning Board Representative
  • Phoebe Beierle, Permanent Building Committee Representative

Committee expertise includes built environment technical expertise; land use technical expertise; waste management; water infrastructure; ecology; community organization; communication; and sustainability experience and interest.

The Committee may solicit participation from other non-voting individuals with skills and expertise to complete discrete projects required to achieve the committee’s objectives. It is expected the committee will collaborate with the Sustainable Weston Action Group (SWAG) and will utilize representatives from Facilities, Public Works, and other Town departments as resources when working.