Music Committee

The Music Committee of the Friends of the Weston Public Library oversees the presentation of an annual concert series in the Library’s Community Room. The Committee’s mission is “to promote the appreciation and love of music and to expand the cultural opportunities available in Weston by enabling the Library to present a variety of musical programs which are free and open to the public.”  

The Music Committee generally presents nine concerts on Sunday afternoons from September through May (with a “winter break” between mid-December and early March), along with an annual MusicFest, an all-day event in May featuring Weston musicians of all ages. Performances in the concert series are varied, ranging from solo piano programs and string quartets to fiddle music and Dixieland Jazz. The Committee is also responsible for supervising the use of the Library’s Steinway piano to ensure that it remains in excellent condition.

  1. Concert Series
  2. MusicFest
  3. Join US
  4. Use of the Piano

Enjoy our popular Sunday concert series from the comfort of home with all new performances. Performances will post at 3:00 PM and will be available on demand thereafter.

  • December 13 - Jon Sakata and Jung Mi Lee, piano 4-hands
  • January 10- May Phan, solo piano
  • January 31 – Duo Ami, piano and cello 
  • February 14– Minkyung Oh, solo piano
  • February 28– Sayuri and Joel, piano and oboe
  • March 14- Shelly Otis, harp with percussion and lecture
  • March 28 – Natalie Zhang, solo piano
  • April 11 - ArtiQue, string ensemble
  • April 25 - Jon Sakata and Jung Mi Lee, piano 4-hands

Coming December 13th at 3 PM

Sunday, December 13 at 3 p.m. Virtual Piano Four Hands Concert featuring Jon Sakata and Jung Mi Lee. The Music Committee of the Friends of the Weston Library is delighted to announce the first performance in its innovative Virtual Concert Series, which will consist of nine concerts aired online and on local cable channels between this December and next April. Jon Sakata and Jung Mi Lee, two renowned concert pianists beloved by the Library’s audiences ever since they first performed in the Community Room over 20 years ago, will launch the Series in a spectacular fashion, performing a piano four hands concert featuring Mozart’s “Fantasy in F minor,” Leopold Godowsky’s “Symphonic Metamorphoses on Künstlerleben (Artist’s Life) by Johann Strauss II,” and Maurice Ravel’s “La Valse—poème chorégraphique.” 

Jon and Jung Mi filmed these pieces in the stunning Bowd Concert Hall at Phillips Exeter Academy in New Hampshire, where both are on the faculty. The première of this performance will be aired on Sunday, December 13th at 3 p.m. on the Library’s Facebook, YouTube, and Instagram platforms, as well as by the Weston Media Center’s Video On Demand service. For audience members unable to access the Internet, the Media Center will also broadcast the concert on its public channels, Verizon Channel 45 and Comcast Channel 9. After each première, concerts will continue to be available online and on the local cable channels for viewers to enjoy. Audience members will receive email links to each performance in advance, and links will also be available on the Library’s and Weston Media Center’s websites. The Music Committee encourages concert-goers old and new to join us in this exciting and moving virtual musical adventure.