Historical Commission

Preferably Preserved Buildings:
Currently Subject to Demolition Delay

The Historical Commission has determined that these buildings should be preserved and has imposed a delay in the issuance of a permit in order to explore alternatives to demolition of the building.


  • Phyllis Halpern, Co-Chair
    Term Expires: 2019
  • Steve Wagner, Co-Chair, CPC Liaison
    Term Expires: 2020
  • Alan D. Fobes, Treasurer
    Term Expires: 2021
  • Alfred Aydelott
    Term Expires: 2021
  • Alicia Primer
    Term Expires: 2019
  • Kathryn Scadden
    Term Expires: 2020
  • Henry S. Stone, Jr.
    Term Expires: 2019

Associate Members 

  • Adrienne Giske
    Term Expires: 2019

Commission Members' Representation on Related Committees

  • Henry Stone - Case House Restoration, Old Library Renovations, and Friends of the Josiah Smith Tavern
  • Adrienne Giske - Friends of the Josiah Smith Tavern
  • Phyllis Halpern - Educational Outreach and Rail Trail Advisory Committee
  • Alicia Primer - Case Campus Master Plan and Educational Outreach
  • Steve Wagner - Community Preservation Committee and Educational Outreach
  • Alan Fobes - Town Center Planning Committee
  • Alred Aydelott - Friends of the Josiah Smith Tavern
Additional Help: Pamela Fox - Historic Markers


The Weston Historical Commission is responsible for the preservation of the town's historic and architectural heritage by:
  • Applying for property listings on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Approving applications for historic plaques
  • Recommending historical preservation projects to be funded from the Community Preservation Fund
  • Imposing a 12-month delay of demolition if demolition is deemed detrimental to a significant historic structure
  • Reviewing applications for demolition of any pre-1945 buildings
  • Reviewing and overseeing preservation restrictions

Appointment & Staff

The Historical Commission is appointed by the Board of Selectmen for three year terms. Staff support is provided by members of the Land Use Department.

More Information

More detailed information on the Town's historic resources, the Demolition Delay By-law, historic markers, and other subjects relating to historic preservation in Weston can be found on the Weston Historical Commission webpage.